Irish Medical Organisation

Dr Peadar Gilligan IMO President 2018/2019

IMO President - Dr John Duddy

Dr Peadar Gilligan is President of the Irish Medical Organisation 2017/2018

Dr Peadar Gilligan qualified from University College Dublin in 1992 with an honours degree. He undertook general medical training in Beaumont Hospital and Letterkenny General Hospital. He completed both a Medical scheme and Paediatric scheme. His paediatric training was in Our Lady’s Hospital Crumlin, and the Rotunda. He trained in emergency medicine in James Connolly Memorial Hospital and completed a Specialist Registrar scheme in Emergency Medicine in the United Kingdom where he was Trainee Representative for the Yorkshire Deanery.

He is a specialist in Emergency Medicine and subspecialist in Paediatric Emergency Medicine. He holds membership of the Royal College of Physicians in both the United Kingdom and Ireland in adult and Paediatric medicine. He is a Fellow of the College of Emergency Medicine and holds Diplomas in Child Health and Immediate Medical Care. He was awarded Gold Medals in Paediatrics from University College Dublin and in Immediate Medical Care from the BASICs Group of the Royal College of Surgeons in Edinburgh. He holds a Master’s degree in Medical Education from Sheffield University.

He is a Consultant in Emergency Medicine at Beaumont Hospital and Chairperson of the Resuscitation Advisory Group in Beaumont Hospital. He is the tutor for the Emergency Medicine Registrars at Beaumont Hospital. He directs Advanced Trauma Life Support courses and Advanced Cardiac Life Support Courses. His publications include a series of 14 reviews of the literature relevant to Emergency Medicine. Dr Gilligan’s research interests include Telemedicine, service delivery, crowding of acute hospitals manifesting in the Emergency Department, renal colic, MRSA, injury, resuscitation and critical care. His research has won prizes at the Irish Association of Emergency Medicine Conference on a number of occasions. He has supervised MSc Students and students performing special study modules.

His research has been presented at many national and international meetings. He is principal investigator for the Ambulance Telemedicine research of the LiveCity Project which is a multi-national study involving many European countries in developing and evaluating telecommunication applications in Medicine, administration and education funded by the European Commission

List of Past Presidents

2017/2018 Dr Ann Hogan
2016/2017 Dr John Duddy
2015/2016 Dr Ray Walley
2014/2015 Prof Trevor Duffy
2013/2014 Dr Matthew Sadlier
2012/2013 Dr Paul McKeown
2011/2012 Dr Ronan Boland
2010/2011                                     Prof. Seán Tierney
2009/2010 Dr John Morris
2008/2009 Dr Martin Daly
2007/2008 Dr Paula Gilvarry
2006/2007 Dr Christine O’Malley
2005/2006 Dr Asam Ishtiaq
2004/2005 Dr James Reilly
2003/2004 Prof. Joe Barry
2002/2003 Dr Kate Ganter RIP
2001/2002 Dr Mick Molloy
2000/2001 Dr Liam Lynch
1999/2000 Dr Fenton Howell
1998/1999 Dr Tony Hynes
1997/1998 Dr Neil Brennan
1996/1997 Mr. Hugh Bredin
1995/1996 Dr Henry Finnegan
1994/1995 Dr Declan Bedford
1993/1994 Dr Seamus Healy
1992/1993 Dr Cormac Macnamara RIP
1991/1992 Dr Cormac Macnamara RIP
1990/1991 Dr Cormac Macnamara RIP
1989/1990 Prof. Cillian Twomey
1988/1989 Dr Chris Mc Namara RIP
1987/1988 Dr Kenneth Egan
1986/1987 Dr Kenneth Egan
1985/1986 Dr Phelim Donnelly
1985 Dr Robert Carroll RIP

IMO Membership

Start reaping the benefits of membership.

If you were previously a member of the IMO you can rejoin here.

Join nowRejoin here ›


Have a question?
Please get in touch with us and we will be happy to answer.