Irish Medical Organisation

Past Speakers

IMO Doolin Memorial Lecture

Lecture Speakers 1964 - 2019

The Doolin Memorial Lecture has been delivered by speakers from a wide range of fields. They have come from the worlds of medicine, politics, sport and charitable organisations.

2019 Professor Brendan Kelly
2018 Dr Austin O'Carroll
2017 Dr Rhona Mahony
2016 Professor Patrick Plunkett
2015 Ms Margaret Murphy
2014 Profess Aidan Halligan 
2013 Professor Freddie Wood
2012 Dr Declan Bedford
2011 Ms Emily O'Reilly, Ombudsman
2010 Prof. Cillian Twomey
2009 Ms Emily Logan, Ombudsman for Children
2008 David Begg, General Secretary, ICTU
2007 Fergus Finlay, CEO Barnardos
2006 Prof. Marie Cassidy, State Pathologist
2005 Mr. Sean Kelly, GAA President
2004 Dr Joe Barry
2003 Prof. Patrick Wall
2002 Ms Liz O’Donnell T.D.
2001 Dr Fenton Howell
2000 Mr Donal J. Geaney
1999 Mr Tony O’Connor
1998 Dr Michael Boland
1997 Prof. Muiris X. FitzGerald
1996 Prof. Kevin O’Malley
1995 Mr Michael Noonan T.D.
1994 Mr Harold Browne
1993 Dr James Walshe
1992 Dr Seamus Healy
1991 No lecture
1990 Prof Davis Coakley
1989 Dr Robert Holmes
1988 Mr John Robb
1987 Dr John Fleetwood
1986 Dr P Anthony Farrelly
1985 Mr John Hume M.E.P.
1984 Dr Phelim Donnelly
1983 Dr John Walsh
1982 Prof. Eamon O’Dwyer
1981 Dr Thomas Murphy
1980 Prof. John B. Lyons
1979 Dr Robert Holmes
1978 Prof. William F. O’Dwyer
1977 Prof. Michael P. Brady
1976 Mr Francis A. Duff
1975 Dr Henry E. Counihan
1974 Prof. Oliver Fitzgerald
1973 Mr John Kiely
1972 Dr Arthur P. Barry
1971 Dr Martin Dyar
1970 Prof. David Mitchell
1969 Mr John P. Shanley
1968 Dr Edward T. Freeman
1967 Dr John Mowbray
1966 Dr Donough W. Macnamara
1965 Mr Thomas G. Wilson
1964 Mr Thomas L.J. O'Connell

IMO Membership

Start reaping the benefits of membership.

If you were previously a member of the IMO you can rejoin here.

Join nowRejoin here ›


Have a question?
Please get in touch with us and we will be happy to answer.