Irish Medical Organisation

The Establishment of Hospital Groups as a transition to Independent Hospital Trusts

The Minister for Health yesterday announced the proposed hospital groupings and published the proposed framework for smaller hospitals. The hospital groups are based on the recommendations in the report on hospital groups.

For your information please find below both documents The Establishment of Hospital Groups as a transition to Independent Hospital Trusts and SECURING THE FUTURE OF SMALLER HOSPITALS: A FRAMEWORK FOR DEVELOPMENT .

Recommended Composition of Hospital Groups
i. Dublin North East: Beaumont Hospital; Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital, Drogheda; Connolly Hospital; Cavan General Hospital; Rotunda Hospital; Louth County Hospital; Monaghan Hospital. (Academic Partner: RCSI).
ii. Dublin Midlands: St James's Hospital; The Adelaide and Meath Hospital, Dublin, including the National Children's Hospital; Midlands Regional Hospital, Tullamore; Naas General Hospital; Midlands Regional Hospital Portlaoise; the Coombe Women and Infant University Hospital. (Academic Partner: TCD).
iii. Dublin East: Mater Misericordiae University Hospital; St Vincent's University Hospital; Midland Regional Hospital Mullingar; St Luke's General Hospital, Kilkenny; Wexford General Hospital; National Maternity Hospital; Our Lady's Hospital, Navan; St Columcille's Hospital; St Michael's Hospital, Dun Laoghaire; Cappagh National Orthopaedic Hospital; Royal Victoria Eye and Ear Hospital. (Academic Partner: UCD).
iv. South/South West: Cork University Hospital/CUMH; Waterford Regional Hospital; Kerry General Hospital; Mercy University Hospital; South Tipperary General Hospital; South Infirmary Victoria University Hospital; Bantry General Hospital; Mallow General Hospital, Lourdes Orthopaedic Hospital, Kilcreene. (Academic Partner: UCC).
v. West/North West: University Hospital Galway and Merlin Park University Hospital; Sligo Regional Hospital; Letterkenny General Hospital; Mayo General Hospital; Portiuncula Hospital; Roscommon County Hospital. (Academic Partner: NUIG).
vi. Midwest: Mid-Western Regional Hospital, Limerick; Ennis General Hospital; Nenagh General Hospital; St John's Hospital Limerick; Mid-Western Regional Maternity Hospital; Mid- Western Regional Orthopaedic. (Academic Partner: UL)..

Note: The acute paediatric services in Dublin; Our Lady's Children's Hospital - Crumlin, Children's University Hospital Temple Street, and the paediatric service in AMNCH - Tallaght should also function as a single cohesive entity with appropriate governance arrangements (in line with hospital group proposals).

IMO Membership

Start reaping the benefits of membership.

If you were previously a member of the IMO you can rejoin here.

Join nowRejoin here ›


Have a question?
Please get in touch with us and we will be happy to answer.